Spinach and ricotta ravioli.

I know it seems from these posts that I cook a lot but they may only arrive every 10 days or so and I eat more often than that. What I do is always make heaps of what ever it is I make that is freezable and bring it out on a rainy day. So since my fridge broke (yay) I had absolutely nothing up my sleeve for dinner. So I did what anyone would do with an afternoon to spare and made spinach and ricotta ravioli, with a bit extra dough to make some fettucine. Actually the real reason  was so I had something different to photograph. But the ravioli was so, so much better than anything you can buy in shops by a million miles and a bit. The filling was so light and delicate, not over-seasoned (because the seasoning comes hard and fast with the sauce and parmesan on top) and you can’t go past freshly made pasta.

I know you know how to make pasta dough, couldn’t be easier really, 3 eggs/ 300g ’00’ flour, 4 eggs/ 400g etc. ’00’ flour is flour from soft, young wheat flour before it has really dried and hardened on the plant, and  is always used in egg pastas. If you are making a pasta to dry and store (like the commercial ones) it would be hard durum wheat flour and water without the egg.

So you have made the pasta dough, kneaded it for 10 minutes, no less, more is far superior to the alternative, and rested it for 20 minutes. The filling is refreshingly simple, get some frozen spinach from the supermarket, yes I did just say that. Defrost about 200g of it. Mix it with about 200g ricotta or until the mix looks about half/ half. Grate some nutmeg over the mixture and season with salt and white pepper (getting a bit pedantic here, black pepper will do) and grate parmesan in to taste but remember not to over-do the seasoning. Add two egg yolks and fold in.

See what I am doing in the photo above? Well do that with the filling once you have rolled the pasta to number 7 or preferably 8 on your machine. Keep your bench well floured when making pasta because it soon sticks without the flour. I also put the pasta on grease proof paper as it comes out of the press to make sure.

Wet your finger in a handy dish of water and trace around where the pasta is going to seal itself then fold the sheet of pasta on top of the filling.  Squeeze the air out of the ravioli as you seal them, making your way from one end of the pasta sheet to the other. Trim the edges of the ravioli into shape.

Boil in overly large pot of water for only about 2 minutes to cook the pasta through. I mean it, no tiny sauce pans for cooking pasta please. The sauce served with the ravioli is traditional and could not be easier, the ingredients are sage and butter. Make sure you have used a fair amount of butter and reached that brown, nutty but not burnt stage and when you put in the sage it crisps up nicely. So delicious.

I had more pasta than filling so I made some into fettucine, it was quite good fun.

9 thoughts on “Spinach and ricotta ravioli.

  1. Hmmm, what is it about your photography that is so delectable? A prelude to another food orgasm? I like the comment about the spinach 🙂 Another beautiful production by Lucy.

    Kasia

    • A note on the spinach: give it a good squeeze through a clean chux. If you have it in the garden and already look like Popeye thanks to the glut you can blanch it, chop it and freeze it ready for later. To blanch spinach: put a large stock pot onto a high heat, wash the spinach and de-stalk, put it in the pot and the water from washing it is enough to wilt it down. I add a pinch of salt to preserve the bright green colour.
      Thanks for the message Kas. x

  2. Hi Lucy, I have only recently discovered your blog and I must say AWESOME! Now I don’t have a pasta maker, or much time, do you have a simple pasta favourite that you could throw our way? Cheers

Leave a Reply

