Mocha Creme Brulee.

My fridge stopped working this weekend and I couldn’t be happier. I went straight out and bought one of those special stainless steel ones, the ones that look really smart. The down side is I was left with quite a bit of food that needed eating including cream and eggs. My favourite dessert is creme brulee and I have been wanting to photograph something (anything) in these bowls I got from a church second-hand shop. I didn’t have a vanilla bean in the house even though there are probably 750 at my shop so I decided on left over espresso coffee and dutch cocoa for flavour.

Here are the steps: 450ml cream, 40g sugar, 1/4 cup coffee and 1 tbsp dutch cocoa in a saucepan, bring to the boil then take off the heat. Whisk five egg yolks with 40g of sugar until pale and fluffy. Add the hot cream very VERY slowly to the egg yolks while whisking the whole time. Anchor your bowl to a wet tea towel to steady it.

Pour this custard into 4 ramekins and bake in a bain marie 50 minutes at 150 degrees. Then cool.

Sprinkle the tops with castor sugar and tip off excess but leave it liberally covered. Fun part, blow torch the sugar to melt and caramelise. The creme brulees can be made in advance, refrigerated and just blow torched at the last minute to serve.

3 thoughts on “Mocha Creme Brulee.

  1. Pingback: Baked Vanilla Custard | kaijunkie

Leave a Reply

